Aber Wrac'h Bay

Top

Les abers in 12 favorites

Climb Europe's highest lighthouse

The number of steps? Do you really want to know? It's true that the silhouette of the Île Vierge lighthouse would almost put New York skyscrapers in the shade, wouldn't it? Climbing the steps of Europe's tallest lighthouse is a bit of an effort, but we promise you that the view of the archipelago and the horizon from up there is a wonderful reward!

L'île vierge lighthouse
Walk to the islands

Walking to an island

How would you like to set off on an assault on a deserted island? Rest assured, this escapade won't turn into an episode of Koh Lanta... Every day at low tide, the nearby islets of the archipelago reveal themselves and offer you an XXL playground! Cross the foreshore in just a few minutes and enjoy a visit, an exhibition or simply the beauty of the place. But keep an eye on the tide - it's never late!

Sailing in the Abers

Port? Starboard? Or straight ahead? Sailing in the Abers is an opportunity to test your seafaring spirit, relax and challenge yourself. Whether you're sailing, rowing or motoring, you're sure to find your ideal support and the conditions to match. Are you more of a... leisurely cruise in a speedboat or old rigging through the river mouth? Kayak or paddle in the river? Regatta to Stagadon Island on a windsurfer or catamaran? And why not all at once?

Boats off Plouguerneau
Aerial view of the Sainte Marguerite peninsula

Hiking on the Sainte Marguerite peninsula

Fancy a stroll along the GR34 in the heart of a protected natural area? A Vauban island fort, secluded coves, lark-singing vegetation and a vast stretch of dunes with golden sands... Don't forget to look up to the sky, as kitesurfers levitate above you! Unless, of course, it's the color of the water!

Savor the treasures of iodine

Take the fresh, nutrient-rich waters of the Abers, add the right amount of know-how and skill, and let your sweet tooth do the rest! Any occasion is a good opportunity to enjoy seafood! This year, you'll be celebrating your birthday with a hearty seafood platter! Challenge your sister to an oyster opening! Take your other half to try abalone at the restaurant! And why not bring back a seaweed tartar for the aperitif?

Oysters - Tourism in Abers
Dunes - Pays des Abers

Walking on the dunes

Have you ever seen wild orchids? Catkins dancing in the wind? Blue thistles? Plants that smell of curry? A walk in the heart of the dune is a wonderful way of discovering the vegetation that makes it up and protects it... but it's also a hell of a lot of sand in your shoes! All you have to do is choose the right moment, from dawn to dusk, for a 100% nature break.

Up the Abers

Luxury, calm and hiking... To get to know the Abers, turn to the river. From the mouth of the river, a trip up one of these arms of the sea plunges you into a rich variety of landscapes. On foot, the GR34 and its loops reveal wooded, winding landscapes. Where marine influences give way to verdant hues. Kayaking along the water's edge, you'll find yourself close to the shore, where birds find peace and quiet, just like you.

Kayak - Pays des Abers

Going back in time

Who said curiosity was a bad habit? Here, old stones like to reveal their secrets. Stop time in front of this chapel's stained glass rose window, this abbey's intricate carpentry, this calvary's fine stonework... Observe also the remains of sleeping beauties where legends invite themselves and where the precious interpretation work of enthusiasts offers itself to you. A journey through time to feed your curiosity and spirituality.

Take a trip to Lilia, pointe du Castel Ac'h

It's time for you to enter the postcard! A myriad of submerged granite heads, colorful annexes, the Celtic Sea with its glazed reflections... All to be savored at any tide, until nightfall by the light of lighthouses and the moon. In this setting of raw, unadulterated nature, we make the walk last in this end-of-the-world atmosphere, facing the lighthouses of Ile Vierge and the mouth of Aber Wrac'h.

Port de l'aber Wrac'h

A weekend in the port of Aber Wrac'h

Welcome to a bubble. Once you've set down your belongings, you'll love the view from the semaphore gardens. From up there, you can see the granite mouth of Aber Wrac'h, its archipelago and nautical life! On the way back down, you'll find designer boutiques and gourmet shops. At nightfall, beacons and lighthouses lull you with their beams of light. Why not stay an extra day?

Follow the lighthouse route on foot or by bike

Lighthouses are springing up all over the place! Every evening, these sentinels of the sea cast their luminous eyes over the shore and the open sea to ensure safe navigation in the face of the sea's many dangers. In the Pays des Abers, move from the garden paradise of Lanvaon to the inspiring Île Wrac'h. Enjoy the archipelago view from the semaphore, or set sail for the purgatory of Ile Vierge, Europe's highest lighthouse.

Bike ride along the lighthouse route of Plouguerneau

Experience a sunset on the archipelago

After a day full of adventure and discovery, it's time to relax and daydream. That's when we settle in for a front-row seat to the most beautiful sight of the day. A sunset over the sea, punctuated by mysterious islets! With friends on a square of towel with your feet in the sand, as lovers in the semaphore park, as a family on an expedition along the foreshore at low tide... Or in good company on the terrace... Open your eyes wide, the show's about to begin!

Météo & marées Boutique Boutique
Baie de l'aber Wrac'h

Top

Les abers en 12 coups de coeur

Gravir le plus haut phare d’Europe

Le nombre de marches ? Vous voulez vraiment le savoir ?? C’est vrai que la silhouette du phare de l’île Vierge ferait presque de l’ombre aux gratte-ciels new-yorkais, non ? Gravir les marches du plus haut phare d’Europe demande un petit effort, mais on vous promet que la vue sur l’archipel et l’horizon tout là-haut, est une très belle récompense !

Phare de L'île vierge
Aller à pied sur les îles

Aller sur une île à pied

Que diriez-vous de partir à l’assaut d’une île déserte ? Rassurez-vous cette escapade ne se transformera pas en épisode de Koh Lanta… Chaque jour à marée basse, les proches îlots de l’archipel se dévoilent et vous offrent un terrain de jeu XXL ! Traversez l’estran en quelques minutes et profitez d’une visite, d’une expo ou tout simplement de la beauté des lieux. Mais gardez un œil sur la marée, elle n’arrive jamais en retard !

Naviguer dans les abers

Bâbord ? Tribord ? Ou tout droit alors ? Naviguer dans les abers, c’est l’occasion de tester son esprit marin, se détendre, se dépasser aussi. A la voile, à la rame ou au moteur, chacun trouvera son support idéal et les conditions qui vont avec. Vous êtes plutôt… Balade tranquille en vedette ou en vieux gréement dans l’embouchure ? Parcours kayak ou paddle dans la rivière ? Régate jusqu’à l’île Stagadon en planche à voile ou catamaran ? Et pourquoi pas tout à la fois ?!

Bateaux au large de Plouguerneau
Vue aérienne sur la Presqu'île Sainte Marguerite

Randonner sur la presqu’île Sainte Marguerite

Vous balader le long du GR34 au cœur d’un espace naturel protégé, ça vous dit ? A chaque pas son lot de surprise : un fort Vauban insulaire, des petites criques isolées, une végétation généreuse qui abrite le chant des alouettes ou encore ce vaste cordon dunaire au sable doré à souhait… N’oubliez pas de lever les yeux au ciel, les kitesurfers en lévitation vous contemplent ! A moins que ce ne soit plutôt la couleur de l’eau !

Savourer les trésors iodés

Prenez les eaux fraîches et riches en nutriments des abers, ajoutez-y ce qu’il faut de savoir-faire et de tour de main et laissez votre gourmandise faire le reste ! Toutes les occasions sont bonnes pour profiter des produits de la mer ! Votre anniversaire cette année, ce sera autour d’un copieux plateau de fruits de mer ! Tentez de défier votre sœur à l’ouverture des huîtres ! Emmenez votre moitié goûter les ormeaux au restaurant ! Et sinon, pourquoi ramener un tartare d’algues à l’apéro ?

Huitres - Tourisme à Abers
Dunes - Pays des Abers

Marcher sur les dunes

Avez-vous déjà vu des orchidées sauvages ? Des chatons qui dansent au gré du vent ? Des chardons bleus ? Des plantes qui sentent bon le curry ? Une balade au cœur de la dune, c’est une très belle découverte de la végétation qui la compose et la protège… mais aussi une sacrée quantité de sable dans les chaussures ! Alors, il ne vous reste qu’à choisir le moment, de l’orée du jour au crépuscule, pour une parenthèse 100 % nature.

Remonter les Abers

Luxe, calme et randonnée… Pour faire la connaissance des Abers, tournez-vous vers la rivière. Depuis son embouchure, remonter un de ces bras de mer est une plongée dans une riche variété de paysages. A pied, le GR34 et les boucles dévoilent des paysages boisés et sinueux. Ou l’influence marine laisse place aux teintes verdoyantes. En kayak, au fil de l’eau, on évolue au plus près des rives, là où les oiseaux trouvent le calme et le repos, tout comme nous.

Kayak - Pays des Abers

Remonter le temps

Qui a dit que la curiosité était un vilain défaut ? Ici, les vieilles pierres aiment vous dévoiler leurs secrets. Arrêtez le temps face à la rosace du vitrail de cette chapelle, à la complexité de la charpente de cette abbaye, à la finesse du travail de la pierre sur ce calvaire… Observez aussi les vestiges de belles endormies où les légendes s’invitent et où le précieux travail d’interprétation de passionnés s’offre à vous. Un voyage dans le temps pour nourrir votre curiosité & votre spiritualité.

Faire une escapade à Lilia, pointe du Castel Ac’h

C’est le moment pour vous d’entrer dans la carte postale ! Une kyrielle de têtes de granit immergées, des annexes colorées, la mer Celtique aux reflets glaz… Le tout à savourer par toute marée, jusqu’à la nuit à la lueur des phares et de la lune. Dans ce décor de nature brute et sincère, on fait durer la balade dans cette atmosphère de bout du monde, face aux phares de l’île Vierge et l’embouchure de l’aber Wrac’h.

Port de l'aber Wrac'h

Un week-end sur le port de l’Aber Wrac’h

Bienvenue dans une bulle. Après avoir posé ses affaires, on goûte volontiers à la vue des jardins du sémaphore. De là-haut, plein phare sur l’embouchure granitique de l’Aber Wrac’h, son archipel et la vie nautique ! En redescendant, au détour d’une boucle de randonnée, on s’attarde dans les boutiques de créateurs et les adresses gourmandes. A la nuit tombée, balises et phares vous bercent de leurs faisceaux lumineux. Et si vous restiez un jour de plus ?

Suivre la route des phares à pied ou à vélo

Par ici les phares, ça pousse comme des champignons ! Chaque soir, les sentinelles des mers posent leur regard lumineux sur le rivage et le large pour sécuriser la navigation face aux nombreux dangers de la mer. Au Pays des Abers, passez du paradis des jardins de Lanvaon à l’inspirante île Wrac’h. Savourez la vue couleur archipel au sémaphore ou prenez la mer, pour faire escale au purgatoire de l’île Vierge au phare le plus haut d’Europe.

Balade à vélo sur la route des phares de Plouguerneau

Vivre un coucher de soleil sur l’archipel

Après une journée remplie d’aventures et de découvertes, place à la détente et à la rêverie. Alors on s’installe confortablement aux premières loges du plus beau spectacle de la journée. Un coucher de soleil sur la mer, ponctuée d’îlots mystérieux ! Entre amis sur un carré de serviette les pieds dans le sable, en amoureux dans le parc du sémaphore, en famille en expédition sur l’estran à marée basse… Ou en bonne compagnie en terrasse… Ouvrez grands vos yeux, le spectacle va commencer !