La Maison des gardiens de phare: an exceptional eco-lodge

Unusual accommodation
Lighthouse and wind turbines
View of the dome
ile_vierge_credit_alexandre_lamoureux_0
eugenie_ragot_27
eco_gite_credit_otpa_4

Why choose this establishment?

Take the boat with your pack and discover Île Vierge, your new refuge. As a lighthouse keeper for a day in this new setting, it's easy to get caught up in the game: scanning the horizon for ships, enjoying meals, keeping an eye on the weather and taking in the incredible view from the top of your stone tower...

AN ISLAND: L'île Vierge (Enez-Verc'h in Breton) is located 1.5 km off the coast of Plouguerneau, in northern Finistère. Its silhouette, punctuated by 2 lighthouses, dominates the Celtic Sea. Owned by the Conservatoire du Littoral, this 6-hectare island is a beautiful, protected natural area. Here, flora & fauna cohabit in an environment as mineral as it is plant.

An exceptional site, the public can wander around the gîte during the day, but as soon as the visits are over (early evening) and until 10am the next day, the island regains its calm.

From November to March, you'll enjoy a timeless experience... Like the lighthouse keepers of yesteryear, you'll be alone in the world, watching over the island and enjoying the peace and quiet of the place, disturbed only by your neighbors, the gulls... From March to October, the island comes back to life and the big lighthouse opens its doors to passengers disembarked on the island by the Vedettes... These organized tours allow you to enjoy a guided discovery of this giant of the seas.

However, bird nesting takes place from February 15 to July 31, during which time the west side of Île Vierge is not accessible.

TWO PHARES

Ideally situated to mark the rocky coastline of the Pays des Abers, Île Vierge is home to 2 elegant lighthouses. On August 15, 1845, the light first burst forth from the small square tower on Île Vierge: 33 metres high and visible for almost 25 km! In 1902, the large lighthouse on Île Vierge took over the task of beaconing the coastline of the capricious Celtic Sea. This 82.5-metre edifice, the world's tallest freestone lighthouse, offers a greater range for its white light, which flashes every 5 seconds over a distance of almost 50 kilometers!

AN EXCEPTIONAL ECO-GITE

Until 2010, the island was home to generations of lighthouse keepers. Now it's your turn. You can stay in a warm and welcoming building, which has kept its soul of yesteryear, at the foot of the little white lighthouse. This 150 m² house, where the immensity of the sea can be seen through the windows, can accommodate 9 people and a baby. When you open the door, you'll discover a robust yet delicate interior: whitewashed stone vaults, original granite floor tiles and refined parquet flooring.

The icing on the cake is this door, on the landing of the 4 bedrooms, which leads to the top of the small lighthouse, the ideal spot to enjoy a sunrise and/or sunset, in the heart of this glass dome.

Services

Show all services

Services

  • Board games

Comfort

  • Baby chair
  • Fireplace/stove
  • Sheets and towels included
  • Oven
  • Cot
  • Refrigerator

Capacity

  • 4 bedrooms
  • 9 people

Spoken language(s)

  • French
  • German
  • English
  • Spanish
RatesMinimum charge
(in €)
Max. rate
(in €)
Overnight stays (in B&Bs, stays, groups)

Transport not included

640€740€
Weekend 2 nights

Transport not included

840€1040€

Means of payment

  • Payment cards
  • Bank and postal cheques
  • Vacation vouchers
  • Transfer

Opening hours

  • From 20/02/2023 to 21/12/2023
Open
Unusual accommodation

La Maison des gardiens de phare: an exceptional eco-lodge

Virgin Island Lieu-dit Kastell Ac'h
29880 Plouguerneau
Getting there with Google Maps

Météo & marées Boutique Boutique

La Maison des gardiens de phare : écogîte d'exception

Hébergement insolite
Phare et éoliennes
Vue de la coupole
ile_vierge_credit_alexandre_lamoureux_0
eugenie_ragot_27
eco_gite_credit_otpa_4

Pourquoi choisir cet établissement ?

Prenez le bateau avec votre paquetage et découvrez l’île Vierge, votre nouveau refuge. En devenant gardien.ne de phare d’un jour dans ce nouveau décor, il sera facile de se prendre au jeu : scruter l’horizon à la recherche des navires, bien profiter des repas, garder un œil sur la météo mais aussi profiter de la vue incroyable depuis le sommet de votre tour de pierre…

UNE ILE : L’île Vierge (Enez-Verc’h en breton) est située à 1.5 km au large de la côte de Plouguerneau, dans le nord du Finistère. Elle domine la mer Celtique de sa silhouette ponctuée de 2 phares. Cette île de 6 hectares, propriété du Conservatoire du Littoral et véritable espace brut face aux éléments marins, est un bel espace naturel protégé. Ici, faune & flore cohabitent dans un environnement aussi minéral que végétal.

Site exceptionnel, le public peut déambuler à proximité du gîte durant la journée, mais dès la fin des visites (début de soirée) et jusqu'au lendemain à partir de 10h, l'île retrouve son calme.

De novembre à mars, vous y vivrez une expérience hors du temps... Tels les gardiens de phare d'autrefois, vous serez seuls au monde, pour veiller sur l'île et profiter pleinement de la quiétude des lieux, seulement troublée par vos voisins les goélands... De mars à octobre, l'île reprend vie et le grand phare ouvre ses portes aux passagers débarqués sur l'île par les Vedettes... Ces visites organisées vous permettront alors de profiter d'une découverte commentée de ce géant des mers.

Toutefois, la période de nidification des oiseux a lieu du 15 février au 31 juillet, pendant cette période, le côté ouest de l'île Vierge n'est pas accessible.

DEUX PHARES

Idéalement située pour baliser la côte rocheuse du Pays des Abers, l’île Vierge abrite 2 élégants phares. Le 15 août 1845 la lumière jaillit pour la première fois de la petite tour carrée de l’île Vierge : 33 mètres de hauteur et un faisceau visible à près de 25 km à la ronde ! En 1902, le grand phare de l’île Vierge prend le relais du balisage lumineux des côtes de la capricieuse mer Celtique. Cet édifice de 82.5 m, plus haut phare du monde en pierre de taille, offre une meilleure portée à son éclat blanc qui jaillit toutes les 5 secondes sur près de 50 kilomètres !

UN ECO-GITE D’EXCEPTION

Jusqu’en 2010, l’île abrita des générations de gardiens de phare. Aujourd’hui, c'est votre tour. Vous pouvez séjourner dans un bâti chaleureux, qui a su garder son âme d’antan, au pied du petit phare blanc. Maison de 150 m² où l'immensité de la mer s'invite aux fenêtres, elle peut accueillir 9 personnes & un bébé. En poussant la porte, vous découvrez un intérieur robuste et délicat : voûtes en pierres blanchies à la chaux, sol aux dalles de granit d’origine et aux parquets raffinés.

Cerise sur le gâteau : cette porte, sur le palier des 4 chambres, qui vous mènera jusqu’au sommet du petit phare, spot idéal pour savourer un lever et/ou un coucher de soleil, au cœur de cette coupole vitrée.

Prestations

Afficher toutes les prestations

Confort

  • Draps et linges compris

Capacité

  • 4 chambres
  • 9 personnes

Langue(s) parlée(s)

  • Français
  • Allemand
  • Anglais
  • Espagnol
Tarifs
Nuitée (en gîtes étapes, séjour, groupes)
Week-end 2 nuits

Moyens de paiement

  • Cartes de paiement
  • Virement
Hébergement insolite

La Maison des gardiens de phare : écogîte d'exception

Ile Vierge Lieu-dit Kastell Ac'h
29880 Plouguerneau
M’y rendre avec Google Maps